The American Medical Association Foundation (AMAF) is offering awards to the United States physicians that have contributed to exceptional service in the course of discharging their duties. AMAF aims to provide these awards to help encourage these physicians who have gone above and beyond to contribute their own little quota to their profession. These awards aim to appreciate the leadership, community engagement, the act of volunteering and many more.

Here are some of the list of awards that are going to be awarded:

Dr. Debasish Mridha Spirit of Medicine Award

Recognizes the work of a U.S. physician who has demonstrated altruism, compassion, integrity, leadership, and personal sacrifice while providing quality health care to a destitute, distressed, or marginalized population in an impoverished community.

International Award in Medicine 

Honors physicians for outstanding international service in the areas of medical practice, medical education or medical research.

Edmond and Rima Cabbabe Dedication to the Profession Award

Honors physicians who are committed to expanding increasing knowledge through teaching, conducting research and publishing. In addition this is heavily involved in volunteerism and philanthropic efforts in medical organizations and other civic organizations. 

Jack B. McConnell, MD, Award for Excellence in Volunteerism 

Honors senior physicians (over 55 years old) who are committed to providing medical care to those without access to health care in the United States.

Pride in the Profession Award

Honors physicians who aid under served populations in the United States.

Excellence in LGBTQ Health Award 

 Honors physicians, residents/fellows and final-year medical students that have demonstrated outstanding work, innovation and leadership in LGBTQ policy, advocacy, patient care, academics (teaching and research), workforce diversity, and/or healthcare administration.

Nominations will be accepted via the application portal from February 8, 2023 – April 23, 2023 at 11:59PM CST.

No applications or supplemental materials will be accepted via email, fax, or mail. Note: If there are access barriers to Internet/computer for nominations due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the nominator should contact the AMAF Program Manager, Emily Demko, for an alternate submission process.

Notifications will go out to all nominators via email, whether or not your nominee is selected, by May 15, 2023.

The selected award recipients will be honored at an award ceremony during the AMA Annual Meeting in Chicago (this year, most likely virtual) tentatively scheduled for June 2023. Updates regarding the award ceremony will be added as they are confirmed. Recipients will have the opportunity to choose a health-focused non-profit organization for a grant honorarium.